Kill Me Heal Me Korean Drama - Ji Sung

Kill Me, Heal is a comedy drama about Cha Do Hyeon (Ji Sung), a man who suffers from multiple personality disorder stemming from a tragic incident in his past. He meets Oh Ri Jin (Hwang Jung Eum), a first year psychiatry student, and eventually asks for her help in treating his disorder.

Kill Me, Heal Me is simply an amazing drama.  Ji Sung’s portrayal of Cha Do Hyeon was so engaging, and he really brought to life each distinct personality.  I was so touched by Cha Do Hyeon’s struggle, yet I was still able to connect with each personality and see their importance.

Kill Me Heal Me - Oh Ri Jin  Kill Me Heal Me - Cha Do Hyeon

The drama includes some wonderful comedy to lighten the mood surrounding Cha Do Hyeon’s illness.  I felt that the comedy was used appropriately and further enabled the audience to connect with his character on many levels.

Kill Me Heal Me Korean Drama - Ji Sung

At the same time, the drama makes you fully aware of how devastating this illness is to Cha Do Hyeon’s life.  It complicates his work and social life to such a degree that he has basically had to suffer alone by keeping it a secret.

Kill Me Heal Me Korean Drama - Hwang Jung Eum

That all changes when Oh Ri Jin comes in to his life.  She immediately develops a strong compassion for him.  One of Cha Do Hyeon’s personalities, Shin Se Ki, also pursues her, which further complicates Oh Ri Jin’s feelings.

Kill Me Heal Me Korean Drama - Hwang Jung Eum and Ji Sung

The mystery surrounding Cha Do Hyeon’s traumatic incident that broke his mind in to different personalities is laid out very well.  Each episode gives a new small piece of information as to what happened, but it never gives away the full truth until the right moment.  The drama does really well at showing how complicated a memory can be and gives the audience a good perspective.

Kill Me Heal Me Korean Drama - Ji Sung and Hwang Jung Eum

The chemistry between Cha Do Hyeon and Oh Ri Jin is also tangible.  They play off of each other so well.  She has distinct relationships with Cha Do Hyeon and Shin Se Ki, but she is able to do this because in the end she sees them as one person.

Kill Me Heal Me Korean Drama - Ji Sung as Yo Na

I would be remiss if I didn’t mention Cha Do Hyeon’s most lively personality, Yo Na, who happens to be a 17 year old high school girl.  This personality provided for some of the best comedic moments.  Ji Sung didn’t hold back in his portrayal of her, and boy does it show!  Yo Na was an audience favorite for good reason.

Kill Me Heal Me Korean Drama - Ji Sung  Kill Me Heal Me Korean Drama - Ji Sung

And not to forget two of his other memorable personalities, Yo Sub and Perry Park.  Yo Seub was the 17 year old boy who struggled with depression and suicide.  This personality had such a subtle depth to it.  Also, to continue to liven things up is Perry Park.  This personality likes to have a good time and has a particular fondness for boats and making bombs.  Things were always exciting when Perry Park was around!

I was completely invested in this drama.  I couldn’t wait to see what Cha Do Hyeon’s personalities would do and how he would clean up after them.  I was intrigued by his missing memory and loved watching it unfold.  And his relationship with Oh Ri Jin was hilarious, yet absolutely tender and romantic.  I shed some serious tears over this drama.  If you haven’t seen it yet, you need to give it a chance!

Kill Me Heal Me Korean Drama - Ji Sung and Hwang Jung Eum Kiss

Which personality was your favorite?

My Rating: 10/10

For more kdrama reviews, click here.

Click here to receive email updates of casting news, trailers, reviews, and more.

19 responses to “Kill Me, Heal Me Korean Drama Review”

  1. AidaZen Avatar

    I finally picked up this drama (I’ve gone up to ep. 16) and it’s been great so far. Loved Shin Se Gi!! I slowed down with watching it because I don’t want it to end. You’re right, I definitely cried in some parts. It definitely deserved the top rating.

    Like

    1. Kay Avatar

      I fell hard for this drama! It’s only the second drama I started watching again immediately after I had finished it. I had heard all of the positive reviews for it, but I never anticipated just how much I would love it! Just the right combination of everything 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Korean Drama She Was Pretty Confirmed to Star Hwang Jung Eum and Park Seo Joon | Kdrama Kisses Avatar

    […] Jung Eum and Park Seo Joon recently starred together in Kill Me, Heal Me as brother and sister.  They played off of each other so well in that drama, and their playful […]

    Like

  3. Favorite Kisses: Kill Me, Heal Me – The Heal Me Kiss | Kdrama Kisses Avatar

    […] Heal Me kiss happens in episode 8 of Kill Me, Heal Me.  Cha Do Hyeon (Ji Sung) and Oh Ri Jin (Hwang Jung Eum) are taking a walk together on a cold […]

    Like

  4. She Was Pretty Korean Drama Review | Kdrama Kisses Avatar

    […] really enjoyed Park Seo Joon in Kill Me, Heal Me where he played Hwang Jung Eum’s ‘brother’.  They had such a fun connection in […]

    Like

  5. Best Korean Dramas of 2015 | Kdrama Kisses Avatar

    […] I was completely invested in this drama.  I couldn’t wait to see what Cha Do Hyeon’s personalities would do and how he would clean up after them.  I was intrigued by his missing memory and loved watching it unfold.  And his relationship with Oh Ri Jin was hilarious, yet absolutely tender and romantic.  Ji Sung and Hwang Jung Eum have some sizzling chemistry.  I also shed some serious tears over this drama.  If you haven’t seen it yet, you really need to give it a chance! My Rating: 10/10 (Kill Me, Heal Me Review) […]

    Like

  6. Ji Sung and Park Bo Gum Offered Lead Roles in Korean Drama Entertainer | Kdrama Kisses Avatar

    […] Sung (Kill Me, Heal Me) and Park Bo Gum (Reply 1988) have been offered lead roles in the new drama Entertainer […]

    Like

  7. Ji Sung Confirmed to Star in Korean Drama Entertainer | Kdrama Kisses Avatar

    […] Sung (Kill Me, Heal Me) has confirmed he will star in the new SBS drama Entertainer (Ddanddara).  Entertainer is about a […]

    Like

  8. 10 Best Korean Dramas | Kdrama Kisses Avatar

    […] I was completely invested in this drama on an emotional level.  I couldn’t wait to see what Cha Do Hyeon’s personalities would do and how he would clean up after them.  I was intrigued by his missing memory and loved watching it unfold.  And his relationship with Oh Ri Jin was hilarious yet absolutely tender and romantic.  I shed some serious tears over this drama.  If you haven’t seen it yet, you need to give it a chance! (Kill Me, Heal Me Review) […]

    Like

  9. Fred Avatar
    Fred

    Sorry City Hunter, I have a new 2nd Favorite hahahaha. Like you, I did not expect it to be this good.

    That main OST is the bomb! Daebak! It can both be very cool or very heart-wrenching.
    I also really like the characters – from the lead couple to the brother. These English phrases Oh Ri Jin and her brother say really light up the mood haha. Same with the unusual facial expressions Oh Ri Jin makes.
    But these are all in the backdrop of a painful circumstance. That is something that I really like in both this drama and My Girlfriend is a Gumiho. There is happiness and fun in a rather painful fate of the lead couple. This brings out this unconditional love that is not present in normal circumstances. Both dramas had the right mixture of pain and happiness. And I think that is what makes both so amazing!

    Now I am beginning to understand more and more what I really look for in a drama. There are the dramas I consider as ‘Perfect’ – dramas that have excellent storylines. If I remember correctly, this includes City Hunter, Pinocchio, Healer, Shopping King Louie, and I Hear Your Voice. I haven’t watched as much dramas as you so this list is too short.

    My Girlfriend is A Gumiho used to be part of this ‘Perfect’ group. But after watching Kill Me, Heal Me I decided that they both deserve a higher level since they are beyond perfect. After thinking about it, I think the best term to describe them is ‘Magical’. They are so amazing that you feel awestruck. You also feel so happy that you will shed tears of joy LOL. It is really hard to explain. Put simply, it just feels so magical like there are fireworks every now and then.

    Anyways, I am so happy I watched this drama. But My Girlfriend is A Gumiho will still keep that Number One spot in my heart haha. I haven’t really figured out why that is the case. There is just something more special and magical in Gumiho. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Kay Avatar

      Yay! I’m thrilled that you loved Kill Me, Heal Me so much 🙂 It really was unexpected. Of course, I don’t think you can ever predict when a drama will be that one that just completely checks all of the right boxes and wins you over wholeheartedly. But yes, everything about it was amazing! The actors, the story, the OST. I experienced so many emotions with this drama.

      And I think you perfectly describe how dramas like My Girlfriend is a Gumiho and Kill Me, Heal Me fall into this special magical group because they are beyond perfection. They mix these dramatic stories of pain with humor that just wins you over. They just have that special magic that so few do.

      How neat that it is so high up on your list too! Kill Me, Heal Me is my #3 all time favorite. It’s a drama that I re-watched within a couple weeks of finishing it because it touched me so much. And I’m always recommending it. It’s very special. But yes, I think My Girlfriend is a Gumiho will forever have it’s seat on top as number 1 🙂

      Like

  10. Marlene Avatar
    Marlene

    Just started last night, glad I read your review and now I’m excited to finished it.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Kay Avatar

      Oh, I’m envious of you just starting this one! I love, love, love it! I hope it’s a good one for you 🙂

      Like

      1. Marlene Avatar
        Marlene

        Sorry for the late reply, yes I finished it 3 weeks ago and I so love it. Every character have reasons to exist, but my favorite is Shi Se Ki, I cried for him and understand why he’s like that. Oh Ji Rin character is hilarious and heartwarming at the same time, love her. I even posted on instagram about this kdrama, so you know I really enjoyed it.

        Liked by 1 person

        1. Kay Avatar

          Yay! I’m glad you loved it! Yes, every character is important and all were enjoyable. So many favorites! I’ve seen so many kdramas, but Kill Me Heal Me is in my top 5 of all time. It’s just that good! 🙂

          Like

  11. 10 Best Romantic Comedy Korean Dramas | Kdrama Kisses Avatar

    […] And Ji Sung’s relationship with Hwang Jung Eum was hilarious yet so tender and romantic. She was amazing for him and really stood by him. I shed a lot of tears over them. The story is wonderful and nicely peels back the layers of the mystery to keep the drama interesting all the way through. Just wow! (Kill Me, Heal Me Review) […]

    Like

  12. jolevey Avatar
    jolevey

    Ahn Nae-Sang belongs to the elite group if South Korean actors like Lee Jun-Ho who can play any type of character. Gifted and talented actor.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Kay Avatar

      That he can! He is incredibly talented 🙂

      Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Hi, I’m Kay

Welcome to Kdrama Kisses! Kdrama Kisses is dedicated to bringing you the latest in kdrama casting news, drama guides, reviews, trailers, and more. I hope you’ll join me on our kdrama adventure!

Let’s connect

Recommended

Button - May Korean Dramas
Button - What Kdramas Should Watch? Discover the Must See Korean Dramas